Corner icon Lectures Section image

Rudolf Steiner Archive

Calendar of the Soul

Northern Hemisphere
Week 35

Can I know life's reality
So that it's found again
Within my soul's creative urge?
I feel that I am granted power
To make my self, as humble part,
At home within the cosmic self.

Southern Hemisphere
Week 9

When I forget the narrow will of self,
The cosmic warmth that heralds summer's glory
Fills all my soul and spirit;
To lose myself in light
Is the command of spirit vision
And intuition tells me strongly:
O lose yourself to find yourself.

—Translation by Ruth and Hans Pusch

See GA 40 for full calendar and German text.

Earthly and Cosmic Man
GA 133

These nine lectures, given by Rudolf Steiner at Berlin in late 1911 and early 1912, concentrate on laws of human destiny and reincarnation in the development of the free, self-conscious, independent human personality.

The lectures are from the lecture series entitled, The Earthly and The Cosmic Man, published in German as, Der Irdische und der Kosmische Mensch.

Foreword by Marie Steiner
I. Introductory Lecture. Winter Session. October 23rd, 1911
II. Evidences of Bygone Ages in Modern Civilisation. March 19th, 1912
III. “Chance” and Present-Day Consciousness. March 26th, 1912
An Easter Meditation.
IV. The Forces of the Human Soul and Their Inspirers. April 23rd, 1912
Kalewala: The Epic of the Finns.
V. The Idea of Reincarnation and its Introduction into Western Culture. May 5th, 1912
The Heralding of Christianity.
VI. The Mission of the Earth. May 14th, 1912
Wonder, Compassion and Conscience. The Christ Impulse.
VII. The Signature of Human Evolution. May 20th, 1912
The Advancing Individuality. The Dawn of the New Power of the Spirit-Self in Man.
VIII. Consciousness, Memory, Karma. June 18th, 1912
Thought Forms.
IX. Form-Creating Forces. June 20th, 1912
The Principle of Progress in Evolution. Seriousness of the Hour.

Support Our Services

The Archive is a "pay what you can" service. If you or your organization use and value our work, please consider making a financial contribution. Visit our Help Out page for additional ways to support us. Thank you!

Please Donate!