Donate books to help fund our work. Learn more→

The Rudolf Steiner Archive

a project of Steiner Online Library, a public charity

Human and Cosmic Thought
GA 151

In these lectures Rudolf Steiner demonstrates that there are twelve main philosophical standpoints and that the fruitful progress in philosophy depends not upon defending one and refuting the others but in learning to experience the validity of them all. This not only sharpens and makes more flexible our own powers of thinking, but also overcomes a narrow-minded one-sidedness and promotes tolerance and understanding of other people and their opinions.

Translated from shorthand reports unrevised by the lecturer, from the 4th edition (1961) of the text published with the title, Das menschliche und kosmische Gedanke, in the Complete Edition of the works of Rudolf Steiner in the original German. (Volume No. 151 in the Bibliographical Survey, 1961.)

Here are four lectures given in Berlin from 20th to 23rd January, 1914 during the Second General Meeting of the Anthroposophical Society.

Lecture I January 20, 1914
Concepts Brought into Movement as an Advance from the Realm of the Spirits of Movement.
Lecture II January 21, 1914
The Possibility of Contemplating the World from 12 Different Equally Justified World Outlooks.
Lecture III January 22, 1914
Seven Moods or Planets, Twelve Shades of the Zodiac, and Three Tones of Sun, Moon and Earth.
Lecture IV January 23, 1914
Man's Place in the Spiritual Cosmos, Astrology, Man as a Thought of the Hierarchies.