Corner icon Lectures Section image

Rudolf Steiner Archive

Calendar of the Soul

Northern Hemisphere
Week 34

In secret inwardly to feel
How all that I've preserved of old
Is quickened by new-risen sense of self:
This shall, awakening, pour forth cosmic forces
Into the outer actions of my life
And growing, mould me into true existence.

Southern Hemisphere
Week 8

The senses' might grows strong
United with the gods' creative work;
It presses down my power of thinking
Into a dreamlike dullness.
When godly being
Desires union with my soul,
Must human thinking
In quiet dream-life rest content.

—Translation by Ruth and Hans Pusch

See GA 40 for full calendar and German text.

The Inner Nature of Man and the Life Between Death and a New Rebirth
GA 153

Given just before the start of World War I, Rudolf Steiner here describes the panoramic reality of the spiritual worlds encountered by human beings after death. He speaks of the joys and sufferings experienced in those worlds by people of different characters, the vision of the “ideal human being” that souls experience, the cosmic midnight hour, the deeper causes behind such phenomena as materialism and criminality, the process leading to rebirth in the world of the senses, and why, on earth, we must lose our direct perception of the spiritual worlds. He also describes some of the methods through which direct perception of the worlds of soul and spirit can be developed.

These six lectures given by Rudolf Steiner at Vienna, Austria in April of 1914, are from the lecture series entitled, The Inner Being of Man and Life Between Death and Rebirth. They were published in German as, Inneres Wesen des Menschen und Leben Zwischen Tod und Neuer Geburt. Printed for Members of the School of Spiritual Science, Goetheanum, Class I, no person is held qualified to form a judgement on the contents of this work, who has not acquired — through the School itself or in an equivalent manner recognised by the School — the requisite preliminary knowledge. Other opinions will be disregarded; the authors decline to take them as a basis for discussion.

I. The Four Spheres of the Inner Life April 09, 1914
II. The Vision of the Ideal Human Being April 10, 1914
III. The Senses and the Luciferic Temptation April 11, 1914
IV. Wisdom in the Spiritual World April 12, 1914
V. Between Death and the ‘Cosmic Midnight Hour’ April 13, 1914
VI. Pleasures and Sufferings in the Life Beyond April 14, 1914

Support Our Services

The Archive is a "pay what you can" service. If you or your organization use and value our work, please consider making a financial contribution. Visit our Help Out page for additional ways to support us. Thank you!

Please Donate!